Lexicon of Musical Invective: Critical Assaults on Composers Since Beethoven'S Time [Audiobook] download free by Nicolas Slonimsky

Lexicon of Musical Invective: Critical Assaults on Composers Since Beethoven'S Time Audiobook download free by Nicolas Slonimsky
  • Listen audiobook: Lexicon of Musical Invective: Critical Assaults on Composers Since Beethoven'S Time
  • Author: Nicolas Slonimsky
  • Release date: 2000/9/9
  • Publisher: WW NORTON & CO
  • Language: English
  • Genre or Collection: Entertainment
  • ISBN: 9780393320091
  • Rating: 7.31 of 10
  • Votes: 669
  • Review by: Nyla Herr
  • Review rating: 9.55 of 10
  • Review Date: 2018/10/2
  • Duration: 4H16M34S in 256 kbps (67.2 MB)
  • Date of creation of the audiobook: 2018-09-17
  • You can listen to this audiobook in formats: MPEG4, WMA, OPUS, WAV, MP3, FLAC (compression XZ, AZW, ZIP, DEB, TAR.LZO, RAR, TAR.Z)
  • Total pages original book: 336
  • Includes a PDF summary of 29 pages
  • Duration of the summary (audio): 22M29S (5.8 MB)
  • Description or summary of the audiobook: A snakeful of critical venom aimed at the composers and the classics of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music. Who wrote advanced cat music? What commonplace theme is very much like Yankee Doodle? Which composer is a scoundrel and a giftless bastard? What opera would His Satanic Majesty turn out? Whose name suggests fierce whiskers stained with vodka? And finally, what third movement begins with a dog howling at midnight, then imitates the regurgitations of the less-refined or lower-middle-class type of water-closet cistern, and ends with the cello reproducing the screech of an ungreased wheelbarrow? For the answers to these and other questions, readers need only consult the 'Invecticon' at the back of this inspired book and then turn to the full passage, in all its vituperation. Among the eminent reviewers are George Bernard Shaw, Virgil Thomson, Hans von Bulow, Friedrich Nietzsche, Eduard Hanslick, Olin Downes, Deems Taylor, Paul Rosenfeld, and Oscar Wilde. Itself a classic, this collection of nasty barbs about composers and their works, culled mostly from contemporaneous newspapers and magazines, makes for hilarious reading and belongs on the shelf of everyone who loves-or hates -classical music. With a new foreword by Peter Schickele ('P.D.Q. Bach').
  • Other categories, genre or collection: Music, Humour Collections & Anthologies, Music Reviews & Criticism, Western Classical Music
  • Download servers: JustBeamit, Uploaded, FileServe, Mejor Torrent, FreakShare, Torrent. Compressed in XZ, AZW, ZIP, DEB, TAR.LZO, RAR, TAR.Z
  • Format: Paperback
  • Approximate value: 21.01 USD
  • Dimensions: 140x208x23mm
  • Weight: 270g
  • Printed by: Not Available
  • Published in: New York, United States

Download audiobook in:

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Option 4


More audiobooks of the publisher WW NORTON & CO

More audiobooks of the genre or collection Entertainment